skip to content

Cambridge Public Health



Cambridge Public Health is led by three co-chairs: Professor Carol Brayne, Professor John Clarkson and Professor Gordon Harold. Together, they represent three of the six Schools of the University. 

Two associate directors, Jyoti Atri and Professor Aliko Ahmed, provide support and advice to the directors from an external perspective.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee consists of CPH directors and team and representatives from the Centre's research pillars and cross cutting themes. 

Name CPH theme School
Dr Louise Lafortune Life-course and Ageing  School of Clinical Medicine
Dr Rosalind Parkes-Ratanshi Global Health  School of Clinical Medicine
Professor Caroline Trotter Global Health  School of Biological Sciences
Dr James Smith Sustainability  School of Clinical Medicine
Dr Jonathan Cullen Sustainability  School of Technology
Professor Mike Kelly Health Inequalities  School of Clinical Medicine
Dr John Ford Health Inequalities   
Professor Stephen Morris Health Economics  School of Clinical Medicine
Dr Tom Bashford Technology and Systems School of Technology
Dr Kathy Liddell Ethics, Legal & Social Implications School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Dr Richard Milne Ethics, Legal & Social Implications  School of Clinical Medicine
Dr Stephen John Ethics, Legal & Social Implications School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Isla Kuhn Evidence Synthesis Medical Library
Professor Daniela DeAngelis Data Science & Artificial Intelligence School of Clinical Medicine
Dr Alice Reid Steering Committee Member School of Physical Sciences
Professor Tamsin Ford Steering Committee Member School of Clinical Medicine
Tatiana Iakovleva Steering Committee Member Centre for Science and Policy
Dr Rosaline Gregory Steering Committee Member Research Strategy Office
Professor James Wood Steering Committee Member School of Biological Sciences


Advisory Board

Our external Advisory Committee represents key stakeholders, external research institutions and enteties with strong Public Health leadership. Its membership is international, with depth in global public health as well as international public health landscapes. The Advisory Committee meets at least once a year with members appointed for three years. Our chair is Professor Bronwyn Parry, Professor of Global Health and Social Medicine at Kings College London.

Name Affiliation
Val Moore Healthwatch Cambridgeshire
Professor John Newton  
Professor Sir Mike Gregory Industrial and Commerical sector
Dr David Williams Devolved Nations - Wales
Professor Frank Kee Devolved Nations - Northern Ireland, UKCRC Centre for Excellence in Public Health Research
Dr Barbara Rimer Global Public Health & SChools of Public Health, Gillings School of Global Public Health
Professor Larry Gostin O'Neill Institute for National and Global Health Law, Georgetown University
Louise McGrath NGOs, THET
Dr Anthony Freeling Cambridge Colleges
Professor Richard Prager Engineering, Head of host Department
Associate Professor Kasia Czabanowska Maastricht University

About us

Cambridge Public Health is an Interdisciplinary Research Centre at the University of Cambridge. We aim to build connections between researchers, foster collaborations with health professionals working outside of academia and conduct research that improves the health and wellbeing of populations. Find out more about us here.